Licença CC0

Having started in 2008, the Post-Doctoral Program in Anesthesiology, Surgical Sciences, and Perioperative Medicine has been recruiting new researchers along with the advisors and graduates from FMUSP’s Graduate Program, as well as from other national and international institutions. Prof. Hazem Adel Ashmawi was the forerunner of this trend, having completed his postdoctoral degree at University of Iowa, with the support of FAPESP, in 2009.

Here are the researchers who have been incorporated into this program:

Dr. André Prato Schmidt, with the project: Study on the mechanisms involved in the antinociceptive activity of purines: the role of guanine derivatives, from 2011 to 2013, with grant of CAPES Thesis Award 2009 and Post-Doc CNPq grant.

Dr. Mirna Bastos Marques, with the project: Anesthesia in patients over 100 years: case series report, from 2014 to 2015, with CAPES-PNPD grant.

Dr. Lívia Stocco Sanchez Valentin, with the project: Effects of transcranial electro-stimulation with direct current in the prevention of post-operative cognitive dysfunction in patients undergoing cardiac surgery: a prospective, randomized, double-blind study, from 2015 to 2017, with CAPES-PNPD grant.

Dr. Angela Maria Sousa, with the project: Evaluation of the effect of palonasetron and palonasetron/aprepitant on the incidence of post-operative nausea and vomiting in high-risk oncology patients by the Apfel scale, since 2015, without grant.

Dr. Roseny dos Reis Rodrigues, with the project: Strategy of transfusion in trauma patients – STATA Trial, since 2015, without grant.

Dr. Valéria Fontenelle Angelim Pereira, with the project: Intraoperative cardiac arrest in Brazil: a prospective multicenter observational study to evaluate the incidence, mortality impact and postoperative cognitive function, since 2015, without grant.

New professionals continue to be evaluated for admission to the Post-doctoral Program with the objective of constantly improving the impact of scientific publications, qualifying students and improving the accreditation of new teachers to the Program.